SLC Pro Bono Director Samantha Howell was chosen by the Florida Pro Bono Coordinators Association (FPBCA) to receive the 2022 Kay Meyers Pro Bono Coordinator Award. Florida Chief Justice Charles Canady announced the award Jan. 20 at the annual Pro Bono Service Awards at the Florida Supreme Court.

The Kay Meyers Pro Bono Coordinator Award honors a pro bono coordinator who is an outstanding coordinator at a local legal services provider, as well as an active member of the FPBCA. Those honored are recognized for their activities within their own legal services program and for their involvement with the FPBCA.

Named for Kay Meyers, pro bono coordinator for the Polk County office of Florida Rural Legal Services, this award honors Kay's dedication to her job and the volunteer attorneys and clients, as well as her significant contributions to the FPBCA. Since her untimely death in 1992, the FPBCA has honored her service with this award.